“We Are Broken”

by nelgrey

The following is to be a letter addressed to my future selves:

I want you to know that we’re getting better. Suicide is no longer something we consider on a regular basis,we’re slowly reaching out to others, learning to receive compliments and we’ve come to terms with “that” thing. You could even say that on the best days, we might actually like ourselves.

So we’re getting there, and I think the younger us would be proud. We’re currently going through a rough time though. I try to remind myself that it will be okay, we’ll get through this and that it is all temporary. But it’s hard, so hard. I don’t want to take anything away from you by making rash decisions so I’m trying to keep it together. I’m trying my best to keep it together (and while I know you’ll thank me for it some day), at this point I’m having a hard time doing what I need to get us past this.

And so we’re slipping….going back to that place inside ourselves that we really don’t want to go because we know what happens. I need some help, remind me that it will all be worth it. It needs to be worth it.

