Question Mark

by nelgrey

I’ve been thinking about this for a while…but it only just clicked last night.

I like helping people. But why? I had hoped it was because I was a good person, that I had a kind heart or something like that. But I don’t exactly see myself as such, and I don’t mean this in a “woe-is-me” type of way. I just don’t see it. But back to my point. So yeah, helping others makes me happy. I like doing it, there’s some kind of high involved when I can make another person’s day a little bit better… I like that idea.

But maybe I  only do this in order to feel relevant, like I matter. I don’t know if that is bad in itself but I guess I’m trying to figure out if my own sense of self (which isn’t much really) should be so closely tied with my relevance in the lives of others.

 

We tell others that they’re great, that they are awesome and that we love them. But it remains the most difficult of tasks to say these things ourselves. Is this hypocritical?

